Types of bankruptcy

Each of the four major types of bankruptcy has its own set of guidelines and regulations. Chapter 7 may be used by businesses and individuals and involves the liquidation of any assets and immediate payment of debts. Chapter 13 often is used by individuals and smaller businesses and involves payment over a period of time. Chapter 11 is used by larger businesses, and Chapter 12 is specifically for farm owners.